Trail Of Broken Hearts - A Jon McLaughlin Fansite

                                  About Jon McLaughlin


Jon McLaughlin, born Jonathan Michael McLaughlin on Septermber 27, 1982, is a singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist from Anderson, Indiana.


  • Jon, the youngest of three children, is a classically trained pianist.  Began taking piano lessons at the age of four.  
  • During his freshman year in high school, Jon ran out of his house on his rollerblades and ended up falling and shattering both of his wrists. 
  • Rediscovered his muse for piano when he saw a notice for a keyboard player needed in a church group.
  • Jon entered Anderson University (AU) beset on studying music business and began for the first time, writing and singing his own original music.  
  • Anderson University created its own student-run record label, Orangehaus Records, and held a talent competition to find who would be its first release.  
  • Jon entered and won, and went on to record two albums under the Orangehaus imprint.
  • Up Until Now and a self-titled album were released in 2003 and 2004, respectively. 

  • Thanks to Myspace, Jon caught the eyes and ears of an Artist and Repertoire (A&R) representative for Island Def Jam Records.
  • Once he graduated from AU, he was flown to New York to perform for three major labels, including Island.
  • Jon was signed to Island Def Jam Records.
  • Recorded and released a piano-based 8-track EP titled Songs I Wrote and Later Recorded in 2005.
  • Jon’s first major label debut album Indiana was released on May 1st, 2007.  
  • Jon had extensively toured with Micah Dalton, Matt Wertz and Stephen Kellog & The Sixers to promote the debut album before its release.  
  • His first single release “Industry” was about “the prospects of life in the music business.”
  • “Industry” questioned failure and success in the music industry before even stepping foot in it and bared an insecurity that was all at once provocative and endearing with lines like:  “This is me on my knees / singing take it all from me / take it all”.

  • In 2007, McLaughlin provided vocals on "So Close", a track written by Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz for the soundtrack of the Disney film Enchanted.  
  • The song went on to be nominated for an Academy Award for Best Song, and Jon was invited to perform the song live at the 2008 awards.
  • His appearance and performance of "So Close" at the 2008 Oscars caused a surge in sales of his Indiana album by over 1,000%.
Photo by: Darren Decker (A.M.P.A.S.)
  • In the summer of 2008, the lead single of OK Now, "Beating My Heart" was released.
  • “Beating My Heart” reached number 18 on Billboard’s Hot Adult Top 40 chart, the highest he has accomplished for released singles.
  • The single received praise from Billboard reviews editor Chuck Taylor, citing the track as “a joyous uptempo romantic romp, featuring hook after hook, from tinkling piano to driving percussion” and “with instantaneous hit potential, and proper promotion of it could propel the artist to superstar status."
  • His second major label album titled OK Now was released on October 7, 2008.

  • Throughout 2009 and 2010, Jon wrote and performed songs that would debut in future releases, such as "You Never Know" and "You Are My Girl Tonight."
  • In March 2010, his 2004 self-titled album was re-issued with a new front cover under the title, The Early Recordings.
  • In December 2010, he released his first ever self-written Christmas song titled "Merry, Merry Christmas Everyone."
  • After finishing his contractual obligations with Island, Jon self-released Forever If Ever in September of 2011.

  • In the spring of 2012, Jon signed a deal with Razor & Tie label and re-released Forever If Ever with a new title and new songs, Promising Promises.
  • Prior to the album's release, "Summer Is Over" featuring Sara Bareilles was released as a single, accompanied by a music video.
  • Without the back-up of any album to promote, Jon toured throughout the United States during 2012 and 2013.
  • During the summer of 2013, he set up a Pledge Music campaign page in order to fund his upcoming album.
  • Members who pledged were given access to video and audio teases of the forthcoming release.
  • The successful Pledge Music campaign led to the release of his overall 8th release, Holding My Breath on September 24th.
  • A percentage of the pledge donations went to a youth charity in his home state of Indiana.
  • A Strings version EP of Holding My Breath was released in November of 2013.
  • Released the single "Honest-to-Goodness Indiana" in the summer of 2014 as part of the Visit Indiana tourist attraction initiative.
  • Toured with Ben Rector in October 2014.
  • Jon's first ever Christmas release, The Christmas EP became available on November 11th, 2014, with a holiday tour to follow.
  • Recorded and released 'Hope Happens Here' for the Riley Children's Foundation.

  • Cites Ben Folds as his inspiration for wanting to make music.
  • Billy Joel, Elton John and Harry Connick, Jr. are some of his musical influences.
  • Toured with the likes of Adele, Kelly Clarkson, Jonny Lang, Paolo Nutini, Dave Barnes, Sara Bareilles, Parachute, Ben Rector, and his idol, Billy Joel.

Instruments: vocals, keyboards, piano, organ, synthesizer, harmonica, acoustic guitar, & electric guitar

Touring Band Members:
Dylan WIlliams: acoustic & electric guitar
Luke Berridge: bass
Chad Kinner: drums & percussion
Bob Stamper
: electric guitar


Bio written by: Miguel Soto
Additional/extensive notes by: Trong N
Revisions by: Miguel S, Tracey V, Trong N


Independent / Self-Released:

Up Until Now (2003)
Jon McLaughlin (2004)
Songs I Wrote and Later Recorded (2005)
Forever If Ever (2011)
Holding My Breath (2013) 

Major Label releases:

Indiana (2007)
OK Now (2008)
Promising Promises (2012)


Industry (2007)
Beautiful Disaster (2007)
Human (2007)
Beating My Heart (2008)
Merry, Merry Christmas Everyone (2010)
What I Want (2011)
Summer Is Over (2012)
Honest-to-Goodness Indiana (2014) 

Non-album releases:

My Debut's Coming EP (2005)
The Christmas EP

Live albums:

Live at the House of Blues (Digital only - 2011)

Digital-only releases:

Industry EP (2006)
Proud Father - Single (2007)
Exclusive B-Sides: Forever If Ever/Nobody Knows/Rip My Heart Out (2013)

Other releases:

The Early Recordings (2010)

Music Videos:

Beautiful Disaster
For You From Me
Beating My Heart
Summer Is Over

For full track listing of each release, visit the The Music section.


Enchanted (2007) -
as Ballroom Singer
The Bold & The Beautiful (2007)
- as Himself (1 Episode)

Share on Facebook

Share on Facebook